A New Perspective

With everyone beginning university in the last month, a lot of things have changed for my friends and I. Although in Australia uni life is notoriously known as being easy, fun and a time to party,  we so far have yet to experience this and for the first time have actually had to make a concerted effort to see each other.  So Saturday night was deemed girls night, dinner and a movie.

We went to see The Monuments Men. The movie hasn’t received great reviews but for me I thoroughly enjoyed it, it wasn’t overly complicated or dramatised, it wasn’t particularly art house or wrought with plot twists. It was easy to follow with beautiful cinematography ( taking me back to some of my travels), with a great balance of comedy, drama and romance and an added dash of action. Of course like any other film their a criticisms I could make however I think it is better to look at the film purely from the perspective of enjoyment.

The film actually had a profound impact on me. I haven’t watched a good war film in the past couple of years, particularly since travelling. It was the first time I fully emotionally grasped the scale of World War 2.  There were a few symbolic moments in the film I found that really pulled on my heart strings and I even found myself shedding a few tears.  The quote from the film “You can wipe out an entire generation, you can burn their homes to the ground, and somehow they’ll still find their way back. But if you destroy their history, you destroy their achievements, then it’s as if they never existed.” has resonated with me ever since I saw the trailer a few months ago, my travels would not have been so amazing if it were not for these things. What would Paris be without its Eiffel tower, its Louvre, its Museums of Modern Art or the Notre Dame?  What story would it tell and where would it’s culture lay?

It is ridiculously scary to think that one man  is capable of causing so much devastation. That one person has the ability to murder thousands of people and attempt to destroy their culture. The sad reality is things like this have happened all over the world, Rwanda, Bosnia, and Darfur to name a few.  It makes me feel very small, almost helpless.

The positive in this? We actually are not helpless. If one man can cause such devastation, then one person should be able to create positive change on the same level. I find this actually rather inspiring.

 

Leave a Reply

